I took Amtrak from NYC to Buffalo yesterday. I always keep one eye out the window when riding the train, in hopes of seeing herons, Bald Eagles, and the like.

Imagine my surprise when I spotted a Black Vulture Coragyps atratus! With a less elongated profile than a Turkey Vulture and flashy white wingtips, it was fairly distinctive. I’ve seen them before, but never in New York State. I knew, however, that they are seen from time to time at New York hawkwatches. So I did a little googling.

According to Nightjar, there’s been a surge of Black Vulture reports in the lower Hudson Valley this year.

Interesting. Are they the next Northern Cardinal?

I also saw my year Wild Turkeys Meleagris gallopavo from the window just outside Syracuse.

Black Vulture Coragyps atratus
Bald Eagle Haiaeetus albicilla
Great Blue Heron Ardea herodias
Mute Swan Cygnus olor
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos
Crow sp.
Canada Goose Branta canadensis
Rock Dove Columba livia
American Black Duck Anas rubripes
Belted Kingfisher Ceryle alcyon
Red-tailed Hawk Buteo jamaicensis
Wild Turkey Meleagris gallopavo