I have to admit, I really don’t get people who balk at buying recycled toilet paper* when it’s even cheaper than the virgin-fiber, torn-from-the-heart-of-the-living-forest stuff.

Plus, and I realize that there’s some selfishness on my part here, but I will be particularly peeved if I never get to see a Pine Grosbeak because other people have, apparently, persnickety bums. I mean, this is a personal subject and all, but…. butts! vs. birds! Come on!

*interestingly, in Garbage Land: On the Secret Trail of Trash Elizabeth Royte quotes a Marcal representative as saying that the brand deliberately downplayed their recycled fiber content so as not to be pigeonholed as a brand for crunchies – at the time (and as far as I know, to this day) a lot of their market share was in supplying offices and institutions. But going by their website, being recycled has shed some stigma over the last three years.

