Since I’ve been at my parents’ for the holidays, I’ve been doing a lot of feeder watching, but my two bird hikes were pretty poor stuff – one was shortened by deep snowdrifts, and the second was besmeared by rain. I’ll try again tomorrow, but barring anything exciting then, I’ll wrap up the year with 153 species – the last being the American Tree Sparrows that are loving the feeders here right now.

It’s been a great year for me birding-wise, the Western Reef Heron aside. I really made the most of spring migration. For next year, a new challenge – the Big Green Big Year, aka BGBY or “Bigby”. Since I already do most of my birding by foot or public transit, I confidently expect to kick ass at this!

Birds of the trip, thus far:

Train:

Great Blue Heron Ardea herodias
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos
Great Black-backed Gull Larus marinus
Bufflehead Bucephela albeola
American Crow Corvus brachyrhynchos

Laben Homestead:

Dark-eyed Junco Junco hyemalis
Black-capped Chickadee Poecile atricapillus
Mourning Dove Zenaida macroura
Red-bellied Woodpecker Melanerpes carolinus
Downy Woodpecker Picoides pubescens
Northern Cardinal Cardinalis cardinalis
Blue Jay Cyanocitta cristata
Rusty Blackbird Euphagus carolinus
White-crowned Sparrow Zonotrichia leucophrys
American Tree Sparrow Spizella arborea
Red-tailed Hawk Buteo jamaicensis
American Crow Corvus brachyrhynchos
American Goldfinch Carduelis tristic

