Missed the Eurasian Wigeon at Prospect Park by mere hours. I’m bumming hard about that. Besides being a nice potential addition to my year list and Brooklyn list, this bird was offering good looks on a small pond, unlike my life-list Eurasian Wigeon from last year, which by my estimation was parked halfway back to Eurasia.

To add insult to injury, just when I’d given up on the day and decided to head to work, some guy on a bike decided to do the hey you… I want to talk to you…. but I just want to get to know you… just give me your number bullshit. I don’t care how ingratiating your tone is or how ‘nice’ your intentions are, if you have to be told three or more times that someone doesn’t want to speak with you, you’re definitely being rude. This has been a public service announcement.

On the good side, I saw a Palm Warbler so tame that when I sat in the grass, it hopped to within a yard of me and foraged while I watched without even needing binoculars. And another late Ovenbird. NYC Bird Report lists an expected late date of October 5 for Ovenbirds, although in 2006 one turned up in December.

House Sparrow Passer domesticus
Rock Dove Columba livia
American Crow Corvus brachyrhynchos
Black-capped Chickadee Poecile atricapillus
Song Sparrow Melospiza melodia
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos
Ruby-crowned Kinglet Regulus calendula
Blue Jay Cyanocitta cristata
Palm Warbler Dendroica palmarum
Hermit Thrush Catharus guttatus
Northern Cardinal Cardinalis cardinalis
Mourning Dove Zenaida macroura
White-throated Sparrow Zonotrichia albicolla
Mute Swan Cygnus olor
Ovenbird Seiurus aurocapillus

