What a day. It took me almost two hours just to get to the park, because the trains were fubar, and then… well, there were plenty of birds. It was just that they were almost all hiding and/or in the dark and/or moving too fast and/or washed out in the sun and/or tiny and greenish brown. The wind never let up; the leaves never stopped moving. It was the most frustrating day of birding I’ve had in a long time. I got my head so turned around that I tried to turn an LBJ into a Swainson’s Warbler and had to give myself a good talking-to.

The only good news for my lists was my year-first White-crowned Sparrow; the best news for my eyes were incredible looks at a Golden-crowned Kinglet that seemed for a moment as though it was seriously considering landing on me (perhaps I looked like I was covered in bugs?)

Rock Dove Columba livia
House Sparrow Passer domesticus
European Starling Sturnus vulgaris
Hermit Thrust Catharus guttatus
Song Sparrow Melospiza melodia
Red-tailed Hawk Buteo jamaicensis
Buteo sp.
Tufted Titmouse Baeolophus bicolor
Gray Catbird Dumetella carolinensis
Black-throated Blue Warbler Dendroic caerulescens
American Robin Turdus migratorius
White-throated Sparrow Zonotrichia albicollis
White-crowned Sparrow Zonotrichia leucophrys
Common Yellowthroat Geothlypis trichas
White-breasted Nuthatch Sitta carolinensis
Mourning Dove Zenaida macroura
Accipiter sp.
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos
Ruby-crowned Kinglet Regulus calendula
Black-capped Chickadee Poecile atricappilus
Philadelphia Vireo Vireo philadelphicus
Blue Jay Cyanocitta cristata
Golden-crowned Kinglet Regulus satrapa
American Coot Fulica atra
Canada Goose Branta canadensis
Mute Swan Cygnus olor
Ruddy Duck Oxyura jamaicensis
Northern Shoveler Anas acuta
Yellow-rumped Warbler Dendroica coronata
Swamp Sparrow Melospiza georgiana
American Black Duck Anas rubripes
Wren sp.

