Every time I see a Monk Parakeet I end up losing my biking gloves on the same trip. I like Monk Parakeets, but dammit, I don’t like them that much. My gloves are nice, and this last pair was nearly new. (Speaking of nearly new, I assume that a small nest = a new nest? The nest I observed about a block from Jordan’s Lobster Dock was relatively tiny.)

My trip to Breezy Point with started out frustrating. Too hot, too far, too much traffic. When I ran over an ugly shard of metal and got a flat tire right between Coney Island and Sheepshead Bay, I was about ready to pack it in. But sitting for almost half an hour in a nice little Sheepshead Bay parklet, looking at gulls and getting accosted by Baptists with tracts while Todd ran up to a bike store and got a new tube, reanimated me in a big way. And it turned out to be totally worth it, what with finally seeing Piping Plovers and a solitary Willet, to say nothing of the American Oystercatcher that I saw feeding its half-grown young one and the abundant Black Skimmers and Common Terns. Todd was the first to see the Plovers, and asked me if I was looking for the little bird that looked like it was going over the sand on wheels, which upon observation is exactly what it does look like.

European Starling Sturnus vulgaris
House Sparrow Passer domesticus
Rock Dove Columba livia
Mallard Anas platyrhynchos
Laughing Gull Larus atricilla
Herring Gull Larus argentatus
Great(er) Black-backed Gull Larus marinus
Monk Parakeet Myiopsitta monachus
Mourning Dove Zenaida macroura
Fish Crow Corvus ossifragus
Common Tern Sterna hirundo
Black Skimmer Rynchops niger
American Oystercatcher Haematopus palliatus
Piping Plover Charadrius melodus *LL
American Crow Corvus brachyrhynchos
Willet Tringa semipalmatus *LL
Northern Mockingbird Mimus polyglottos
Cedar Waxwing Bombycilla cedrorum

