1.
Juncos where I come from look like miniature Darth Vaders.
Juncos where I am now look like a particularly inauspicious flavor of salt-water taffy.

2.
Yesterday my sister warned me about poison oak.
It really sucks, she said.
Today my legs itch, but there’s nothing there.

3.
Two species of jays here. One,
with a black mohawk
the other with a suede vest.
Punks vs. bikers
They both rumble with the squirrels.

4.
Eucalyptus bark
peels from the trunk and falls noisily
Woodpecker? No, it just falls.

5.
Everywhere the hummingbirds.
They perch higher, squeak louder, come in more luxurious variety.
They dance at the corner of my eye and out of sight.

(those of you who read my facebook are, of course, cheating if you guess.)

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook
Nature Blog Network

