I was hoping to bring you some really neat-o keen pictures of something rare and exciting – namely, a Scott’s Oriole in the snow. But after dropping off the map earlier this month, the Scott’s Oriole has developed the same bad habits as other celebrity birds like last summer’s Western Reef Heron, teasing observers with now-you-see-him-now-you-don’t antics for maximum frustration (granted, at least you don’t have to hang out by the homeless camp behind the Home Depot for Scotty.)   So after soaking my socks and spending too much on mediocre diner food that gave me heartburn, I ended up with a morning list of four species, the most exciting of which was White-Throated Sparrow.

Perversely, this feels a lot more like “real” birding that walking out of a subway exit and immediately spotting a state first bird.  However, I reject such impulses as masochistic at best and elitist at worst, goddammit.  Vagrants should sit where I can find them!

Species List:

House Sparrow Passer domesticus
White-throated Sparrow Zonotrichia albicollis
American Robin Turdus migratorius
Rock Pigeon Columba livia

